President’s Blog – February 2014

Greeting ACS colleagues,

Put the kettle on, butter a scone, open the Tim Tams or pour a glass and then sit back and enjoy a great read with this month’s National E News

Image courtesy of David Wakeley ACS
L-R Jason Thomas (WA), Ron Windon ACS (NSW), Marianne Wakeley (NSW), Ted Rayment ACS (NSW), Ron Johanson ACS (QLD), Alan Cole ACS (VIC), Mylene Ludgate (SA), Jason Hargreaves ACS (QLD) and David Wakeley ACS (NSW)

Here is my acceptance speech made at the AACTA Awards ceremony… as I remember it!

Image courtesy of David Wakeley ACS

“My sincere thanks to the AACTA Board and to Dr George Miller and the Byron Kennedy Award Panel for this truly humbling honour.

I am truly proud to accept this prestigious Award on behalf of our 1500 Australian Cinematographers Society members, who work across all genres from Student films to TVC’s, to News crews working in war zones, or just around the corner, Documentaries, TV Drama, Features and all those other cinematographers and associates who are proudly recognised as ACS members.

The Society believes passionately that our industry, now more than ever, needs to be totally inclusive as our future depends on it, so I share this with our fellow Guilds.

There are many to thank, particularly our founding fathers, our National Executive, our ACS Branch committees, our ACS sponsors along with all past and present members, with special recognition to ACS Historian and past National President, Ron Windon ACS for his thoughtful guidance and his counsel.

Thank you all once again, this is fantastic!….”

It certainly is at times like this how proud one feels to be a member of such a Society, steeped in tradition and generosity of spirit.

Ron Johanson OAM ACS
National President

Image courtesy of Marianne Wakeley

Until next time.
Ron Johanson ACS


Related Articles