Welcome to the Northern Territory Branch of the ACS

The Northern Territory branch of the ACS was formed in September 2005 and was inspired and driven by founding member David Curl who became our first President. David Curl is a world-renowned nature and wildlife cinematographer whose involvement in the Northern Territory film industry has spanned almost a quarter of a century.

Along with other founding members such as Allan Collins ACS the branch grew out of an industry, which survives in a landmass representing one fifth of Australia, with a population of just over 200,000.

It's ACS Awards Time

ACS offers members financial support during pandemic

Dear ACS Members, sponsors, colleagues and friends,

In recent days the National Executive have been in discussion regarding the potential fallout to our members due to the Coronavirus.

We feel in these extraordinary and unprecedented Coronavirus Covid-19 times that many of our members are suffering both financially and emotionally and therefore the ACS would like to offer all financial members a free membership for the 2020/2021 financial year.

If a member is unfinancial they will have to pay a minimum of one year’s membership that is currently in arrears to be eligible to receive this offer.

Thankfully each Branch has agreed to bear the cost on behalf of its members. The Branches will also still pay the National ACS Capitation fees as well as the Clubhouse and Magazine levies so that Nationally the ACS, ACS HQ and AC Magazine can continue to operate.

I cannot thank the Branches enough for their support of this very important initiative.

There could well be some who feel they do not need this assistance as they have the capacity to pay their membership fee. If you are one of those member’s I say thank you for your support and generosity of spirit and ask you to contact your Branch treasurer to let them know that you are willing to pay your membership fee for 2020/2021 year as usual.

Unfortunately, we cannot extend this offer to new members, so they will be required to pay the current advertised membership fees. After all we are rewarding our current financial members for their continued loyalty and support.

Please remain assured that your Society is very mindful that there will be many who will be disadvantaged by the Coronavirus and we hope to assist by this initiative.

Ron Johanson OAM
ACS National President

Territory Pictures and Postcards

We are putting out the call for awesome pics and or stories from our ACS NT members
(see gratuitous pic of croc below). You may not be as good looking as the characters below but send them in anyway. Send us a couple of lines and or a pic to andrew@exposureproductions.com.au or stephen.cavenagh@hotmail.com. You can also MMS Andy and we will be grabbing the odd picture from Facebook.

NT Committee 2020


  • Andrew Hyde

Vice President

  • Ian Redfearn
  • Alex Novak


  • Stephen Cavenagh ACS


  • Jennifer Richards


  • Ian Richards
  • Chris Tangey
  • Shane Mulchay
  • Tim Wood
  • Maxim Hussey
  • Nick Parry


P +61 889 323499 | M +61 411 288005 |


PO Box 2111, Parap NT 0820

Harassment or Bullying

It is the policy of the Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) that each and every member of the Society and the greater Film and Television industry has the basic right to work in an environment free from any gender bias, harassment or bullying of any kind.
The Society will not tolerate any behaviour that is considered threatening or dis-respectful towards any of our members.

ACS National Executive