Welcome to the Tasmanian Branch of the ACS

The Tasmanian branch is a small but active part of the ACS. It is also one of the oldest branches, being formed back in February 1969. John Bale ACS was our first elected President. John also happened to be the first ACS Milli Award winner. Gert Kirchner ACS was another foundation member as was John Wright.

Some of the more well known ACS Tasmanian members through the years include David Brill, Peter Donnelly ACS, Warwick Curtis, Chris Morgan ACS, and Paul Di Benedetto ACS. One of the first cinematographers ever inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame was Tasmanian, Neil Davis, whose front line coverage of the Vietnam War is world famous. We also have industry legend Dick Marks OAM living in our state and working actively within our branch. There are currently around 45 ACS members based in Tasmania and we hold regular local events throughout the year, covering all areas of our craft.

ACS Tasmania works closely with local screen bodies such as Screen
Tasmania and Wide Angle Tasmania and helps to promote and develop skills in emerging film-makers. We have a close association with the Victorian branch of the ACS and hold combined annual state awards. Our branch produces regular state based newsletters featuring articles from our local members. These newsletters, plus information of future ACS Tasmania events can be viewed here.

Contact Us


  • Peter Curtis ACS

Vice President

  • Tom Waugh


David Hudspeth

2017/18 Committee

  • Robert Heazlewood
  • Graham Gates
  • Alexandra Van Der Plaat
  • Andrew Harcourt
  • Jordan Young
  • Charles Allardice
  • Mathew Farrell

History of the Tasmanian ACS