National awards

The 55th Annual ACS National Awards for Cinematography

The 2025 National Awards for Cinematography will be held in Melbourne on the 3rd May 2025 at The Forum, 154 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria. Kindly hosted by the Victoria Branch of the ACS.

The 54th Annual ACS National Awards for Cinematography


The 2024 National Awards for Cinematography were held in The Ithaca Auditorium, Brisbane City Hall on May 4th 2024.

Master of Ceremonies Ray Martin AM was joined by the very special guest of honour, Bryan Brown AM.

The event was proudly sponsored by Creamsource and was hosted by the Queensland branch.

View the livestream recording of the 2024 National Awards >>>

See the full Winners List >>>

Download the Winners List >>>

View photos from the event >>>

Satellite Events

Force Of Nature: The Dry 2 – Q&A with Andy Commis ACS
Panavision and ACS present a special screening of Force Of Nature followed by a Q&A session with DP Andrew Commis ACS. Following the screening, the after-party in the cinema foyer sponsored ACS friends Leitz and Rosco.

Meet The Nominees
Kim Batterham ACS interviews a selection of the nominees and screens clips of their branch Gold-winning work. Held at the Palace Barracks Cinema.
Proudly sponsored by ARRI.

Past Awards

The 53rd Annual ACS National Awards for Cinematography

The ACS National Awards for Cinematography were held on Saturday, 6 May 2023 in the spectacular Crystal Ballroom on the water’s edge at Sydney’s iconic Luna Park.

Proudly sponsored by FUJINON FUJIFILM, the National Awards celebrated the best cinematography from across the country and was hosted by our Master of Ceremonies Ray Martin ᴀᴍ.

Download the programme here: National Awards Programme 2023.pdf »

Download the Winners List here: »

The video of the event is available here: »

Satellite Events

THE GRAY MAN screening plus Q&A with Stephen F. Windon ACS ASC
presented by Panavision at AFTRS theatre.

Followed immediately by Rosco/Leitz Drinks & Food After-party.

MEET THE NOMINEES presented by ARRI Australia
followed by an ROSCO RDX LAB Presentation.
AFTRS theatre.


2021 ACS National Awards for Cinematography

The prestigious 52nd Annual National ACS Awards for Cinematography were held in Adelaide at the Hilton Hotel on Victoria Square on April 30th 2022 and were hosted by the SA ACS Branch. The MC was the fabulous Ray Martin AM. This was a black tie event as befits the highlight of the ACS year. These Awards showcased the best of the best work from Australian DoP’s and celebrated the legacy of outgoing National ACS President Ron Johanson OAM ACS and welcomed our new National President Erika Addis.

The satellite events over the Awards weekend included:
– A special Screening and Q&A of The Dry with DoP Stefan Duscio ACS moderated by Kim Batterham ACS, sponsored by PANAVISION.
– ROSCO – LEITZ sponsored Drinks & Pizza in the Mercury CX foyer.
Meet the Nominees session sponsored by ARRI Australia with Kim Batterham ACS moderating.
– A special presentation where ROSCO and Fuse FX revealed their Prototype for Virtual Production.
– ARRI Australia staged Awards After Party at the Malt Shovel Taphouse

To view the Winners List click here »

To view a recording of the ceremony on Vimeo click here »

To view the Photo gallery click here »

2020 ACS National Awards for Cinematography

The 2020 National Awards were held on May 1 at the National Gallery in Canberra, following a weekend of events that included a screening and Q and A of “Higher Ground”, a Rosco- Leitz pub night, a meet the nominees event, Fixafilm’s film restoration presentation and ARRI Australia’s afterparty.

2020 National Awards for Cinematography Winners Announced

Watch the 2020 National Awards for Cinematography Ceremony

With Thanks to our Generous Sponsors

About the Awards

Entries for the National Awards are automatically determined from the Gold winners at the individual State & Territory Awards, held in November the preceding year. Direct entry is not available into the National Awards. Only current financial members of the Society are eligible to enter into the State & Territory awards and must remain financial members at the time of National Awards’ judging.

The Gold Tripod

The highest award given in each category. A runner up may receive an Award of Distinction. Only one Gold Tripod and one Award of Distinction may be awarded in each category.

The Milli

All of the Gold Tripod Winners are then reconsidered to determine the winner of the Milli Award for ACS Australian Cinematographer of the Year.

The National Awards are held on a rotational basis between the States of NSW, Queensland, Victoria and South Australia. On special occasions the National Awards may be held in one of the other States or Territories.


With  thanks to our Sponsors

National Major Sponsor
Creamsource logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        Cutting Edge logo        Panasonic logo        Panavision logo
Sony logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        Aputure logo        ARRI Australia logo        Atlas Lens Co. logo        C R Kennedy logo
EIZO logo        Fujifilm Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo        Lemac logo        Miller Australia logo
Nikon logo        Rosco logo        Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo        The Grainery logo
VA Hire logo        Well Above logo

National Silver Sponsor
Shotdeck logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Camerahire logo        Cinesure Global logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems logo        Nanlux logo        RED logo
Shotclass logo        Sydney Event Services logo        TecArt logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Australian Location Managers Guild logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo