Josh Farmelo named Emerging Cinematographer of 2015

2015 NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award

Josh Farmelo named Emerging Cinematographer of 2015

Josh Farmelo has been presented with the 2015 NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award for an Emerging Cinematographer.

The announcement was made during the Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) National Awards, which were held on Saturday 2 May in Hobart.

The award is a partnership between the ACS and the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA), and it provides a cash prize of $3,000.

Farmelo said that winning this award is ‘huge’ for his career: ‘The recognition really means a lot – it is very encouraging and validating for a young cinematographer to be acknowledged with such an award, and it reaffirms I’m on the right track. It is really an honour to be chosen by the ACS and NFSA to receive the award and I look forward to the opportunities it will present.”

In 2014 Farmelo won the Gold Award in the ACS Student Cinematography category, for his work on the short film Twenty Forty Three. Other works include Cigarettes Burn Faster in the Sun and Small Hands.

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS said:

The collaboration between the ACS and the NFSA is a testament to the Award itself and the possibilities for those Emerging cinematographers, like Josh Farmelo to progress their careers.

Farmelo plans to use the prize money to attend the prestigious American Society of Cinematographers (ACS) Masterclass in Los Angeles:

‘I’d be learning from the best. The ASC masterclass is taught by some of the most pre-eminent and inspiring cinematographers in the industry, and to be able to tap into their wealth of knowledge and experience would be absolutely invaluable.’

The NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award was first presented in 2010. Applications for the 2016 NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award will open early next year.

View Josh Farmelo’s’s showreel on Vimeo

For more information or to request an interview, please contact Miguel Gonzalez [email protected] or (02) 8202 0114


The NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award provides a cash prize of $3,000 to an emerging cinematographer who is either currently studying cinematography at a tertiary institution, or working in the film industry, and is a current member of the ACS. The prize can be used for any educational, training, or professional work which will further their skills and career. The award was first presented in 2010.

The Award is named in honour of the Australian Cinematographers Society co-founder and industry icon, John Leake OAM ACS (1927-2009). John began his cinematographic career as a 15-year-old with Movietone News in 1944 before moving on to Supreme Sound Studios. He served as both NSW President and Federal President of the ACS and was the Society’s Official Historian until his passing.

The previous recipients are:

2015 Thom Neal
2013 Dale Alexander Bremner
2012 Jimmy Ennett
2011 Edward Goldner
2010 Kirsty Stark

Their stories are available on the NFSA website.


The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia is the nation’s living archive — developing, preserving and sharing Australia’s audiovisual memory. The national collection includes nearly two million items spanning over 100 years of creative production in film, sound, broadcast and networked media.


Founded in 1958, the Australian Cinematographers Society is a non-political society of crafts people wishing to further develop their skills through mutual cooperation. Membership is open to all persons involved or associated with the motion picture and television industry.

Related Articles