John Bailey ASC elected President of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

John Bailey ASC was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (August 8) by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Also elected to officer positions by the Board:

  • Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
  • Kathleen Kennedy, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
  • Michael Tronick, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
  • Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
  • Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee)

John Bailey ASC is beginning his first term as president and his fourteenth year as a governor representing the Cinematographers Branch. Gianopulos, Kennedy, Rubin, Utley were re-elected to their posts. This will be the first officer stint for Burwell and Tronick.

Bailey’s cinematography credits include “Ordinary People,” “American Gigolo,” ” The Big Chill,” “Groundhog Day,” “As Good as It Gets,” “The Anniversary Party,” “The Way Way Back” and “A Walk in the Woods.” In 2014 he received the American Society of Cinematographers Lifetime Achievement Award.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

Board of Governors – Cinematographers Branch

John Bailey ASC ~ Ordinary People, American Gigolo, The Big Chill, Groundhog Day, As Good As It Gets, The Anniversary Party, The Way Way Back, and A Walk in the Woods.”In 2014, he received the ASC Lifetime achievement Award.
Daryn Okada ASC ~ Let’s Be Cops, Dolphin Tale 2, Just Like Heaven, Mean Girls and Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.
Mandy Walker ACS ASC ~ Hidden Figures, The Mountain Between Us, Australia, Shattered Glass and Lantana was an artist in residence at UCLA in 2015 and inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame in 2017,


Related Articles