Welcome to the South Australian Branch of the ACS

The SA Branch of the ACS holds regular member nights and our committee meets monthly, usually on the first Monday night, at Pro AV Solutions at 6:30pm.

Please check out our latest Kinemagraphe Newsletter and access to the Archive of all of our Newsletters, via the link on the right of this page, for the latest news and events and for more information about what’s happening in the SA Branch.

Our branch is supported by a great group of loyal sponsors, check out who they are via the link on the top right of this page. Maybe you’d like to become a sponsor our branch, if so please download a SA Sponsorship Proposal from the links on this page or the SA Sponsors page.

We also greatly appreciate the support of the ACS National sponsors, you can also check out who they are via the link on the top right of this page.

If you have any suggestions for our branch please email us via the link below or post to : ACS SA C/- M Ludgate
3 Heron Way, HALLET COVE SA 5158

Our 43rd Annual South Australia & Western Australia Awards for Cinematography were held in Adelaide on Saturday October 28 in the ballroom at the Grand Chancellor Hotel .

Click to download the Winners List for the 43rd Annual SA & WA Awards for Cinematography 2023 »

Want to become a SA ACS Branch sponsor? Then download our 2023/2024 Sponsorship Proposal. »

SA Membership Benefits

Benefits of SA membership include:

  • Trade nights including technical, educational, latest gear, networking, screenings & Q&A’s
  • The opportunity of putting forward ideas for informative nights
  • Monthly emailed Newsletters
  • AC quarterly Magazine
  • Annual SA & WA State Awards for Cinematography (generally end of October or early November)
  • Annual National Awards for Cinematography (generally in May)
  • Christmas drinks
  • AGM plus fun night
  • ACS Attachments
  • Access to mentorship
  • ACS membership pack
  • ACS merchandise
  • HQ access and ability to use it as a base when in Sydney
  • 15% off the best available rate of the day at View Hotels Bookings quote ‘Associations’ to secure discounted rate! 1300 785 453 or hotels
  • ACS Camera Assistants Course in Melbourne

SA Emerging Cinematographer Award

The SA Emerging Cinematographer Award aims to recognise and support an emerging SA ACS member so they can pursue creative ideas and enhance their career in cinematography.

The award is supported with a cash grant from the SA branch of $1,000 and sponsored by SA ACS Gold Sponsor Picture Hire with a generous camera package for up to three consecutive days to the value of $5,000  (T&C’s apply). We anticipate this Award will give the recipient access to a better camera and lens package than they normally could afford.

The cash grant could be used to hire extra gear for the shoot, used to complete a course to further their education, or on something else to advance their career. Only financial SA ACS Active members of one year or more may apply. Submissions from applicants for this award will only be accepted from July 1 to July 14.

Some of the criteria we are looking for in your submissions include:
– a bio of your career including what education or training you may have had
– any mentors you may have had, or those who have been influential in your career
– how has your cinematography improved and why
– what awards, if any, have you won
– provide files or links to some of your best cinematography
– if known, what would you use the Camera package prize and the cash prize for?

The winner will be chosen by a select panel of 5 of the SA committee and will be presented at our annual State ACS Awards for Cinematography. 

2023 / 2024 SA Branch Committee


  • Richard Back

Vice Presidents

  • JoAnne Bouzianis-Sellick
  • Daniel Charlton


  • David Gregan

Assistant Secretary

  • Daniel Charlton


  • Mylene Ludgate

Assistant Treasurer

  • Ernie Clark ACS

Newsletter Editor

  • Maxx Corkindale

Committee Members

  • Malcolm Ludgate ACS
  • Mark Evans
  • Claire Bishop
  • Grace (Shuying) Liu
  • Michael Tessari
  • Johanis Lyons-Reid

SA National Executive representatives

  • Richard Back
  • Mylene Ludgate

SA Peer Support contacts

Two of our committee are our SA Peer Support contacts, as ‘go to’ people, should any of our members wish to discuss any gender, race, disability, religious, sexual orientation discrimination or harassment or bullying of any kind that has occurred at any of our events.

The SA Peer Support contacts are vice President JoAnne Bouzianis-Sellick & Committee member Mark Evans.

Click to email JoAnne »

Click to email Mark »

Email the SA Branch

The SA branch greatly appreciates the support of all of its State and National Sponsors

South Australia Platinum Sponsor
Pro AV Solutions logo

South Australia Gold Sponsors
Best FX logo        Kojo logo        Picture Hire Australia logo        Stepney Studios logo

South Australia Silver Sponsor
Digital Pigeon logo

South Australia Bronze Sponsor
Larry's Lighting Van logo

South Australia Supporter
AADC logo

National Major Sponsor
Creamsource logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        Cutting Edge logo        Panasonic logo        Panavision logo
Sony logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        Aputure logo        ARRI Australia logo        Atlas Lens Co. logo        C R Kennedy logo
EIZO logo        Fujifilm Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo        Lemac logo        Miller Australia logo
Nikon logo        Rosco logo        Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo        The Grainery logo
VA Hire logo        Well Above logo

National Silver Sponsor
Shotdeck logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Camerahire logo        Cinesure Global logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems logo        Nanlux logo        RED logo
Shotclass logo        Sydney Event Services logo        TecArt logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Australian Location Managers Guild logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo