John Leake OAM ACS – Emerging Cinematographer Award

The Award is named in honour of the Australian Cinematographers Society co- founder, John Leake OAM ACS (1927-2009). John began his cinematographic career as a 15-year-old with Movietone News in 1944 before moving on to Supreme Sound Studios. He served as both NSW President and Federal President of the ACS and was the Society’s Official Historian until his passing in 2009.


2023Joanna CameronNSW
2022Bonnie PakuSA
2021Megan OgilvieNSW
2020Award not presented 
2019Claire BishopSA
2018Ben CotgroveQLD
2017Mark KenfieldVIC
2016Simon J WalshVIC
2015Josh FarmeloVIC
2014Thom NealNT
2013Dale BremnerNSW
2012Jimmy EnnettACT
2011Edward GoldnerVIC
2010Kirsty StarkSA