Welcome to the Tasmanian Branch of the ACS

The Tasmanian branch is a small but active part of the ACS. It is also one of the oldest branches, being formed back in February 1969. John Bale ACS was our first elected President. John also happened to be the first ACS Milli Award winner. Gert Kirchner ACS was another foundation member as was John Wright.

Some of the more well known ACS Tasmanian members through the years include David Brill, Peter Donnelly ACS, Warwick Curtis, Chris Morgan ACS, and Paul Di Benedetto ACS. One of the first cinematographers ever inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame was Tasmanian, Neil Davis, whose front line coverage of the Vietnam War is world famous. We also have industry legend Dick Marks OAM living in our state and working actively within our branch. There are currently around 45 ACS members based in Tasmania and we hold regular local events throughout the year, covering all areas of our craft.

ACS Tasmania works closely with local screen bodies such as Screen
Tasmania and Wide Angle Tasmania and helps to promote and develop skills in emerging film-makers. We have a close association with the Victorian branch of the ACS and hold combined annual state awards. Our branch produces regular state based newsletters featuring articles from our local members. These newsletters, plus information of future ACS Tasmania events can be viewed here.

Contact Us


  • Tom Waugh

Vice President

  • Peter Curtis ACS


Adam Reibel


Mitchell Woolnough

2023/24 Committee

  • Lara van Raay
  • Leuke Marriott
  • Jacob Harris
  • Richard Williams
  • Tom Chapman.

TAS Silver Sponsor
Digital Pigeon sponsor logo

TAS Supporter
Ignite Digi sponsor logo        Seven Network Tasmania sponsor logo        Wide Angle Tasmania sponsor logo

National Major Sponsor
Cream Source sponsor logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design sponsor logo        Blonde Robot sponsor logo        Canon sponsor logo        Cutting Edge sponsor logo        Godox sponsor logo
Netflix sponsor logo        Panasonic sponsor logo        Panavision sponsor logo        Sony sponsor logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS sponsor logo        Aputure sponsor logo        ARRI Australia sponsor logo        Atlas Lens Co sponsor logo        C R Kennedy sponsor logo
Eizo sponsor logo        Fujinon – Fujifilm sponsor logo        Leitz sponsor logo        Lemac sponsor logo        Miller sponsor logo
Nikon sponsor logo        Rosco sponsor logo        Showreel Finder sponsor logo        Sun Studios sponsor logo        The Grainery sponsor logo
VA Digital Hire sponsor logo        Well Above sponsor logo

National Silver Sponsors
Crayon sponsor logo        Shotdeck sponsor logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Camera Hire Com Au sponsor logo        Cinesure Global sponsor logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems sponsor logo        Nanlux sponsor logo        Red sponsor logo
Shotclass sponsor logo        Sydney Event Services sponsor logo        Tec Art sponsor logo

National Supporter
AACTA sponsor logo        Australian Location Managers Guild sponsor logo        Black Bishop Films sponsor logo        Film & Digital Times sponsor logo        MPIBS sponsor logo
NFSA sponsor logo

History of the Tasmanian ACS