Media Release: NFSA and ACS to reward new cinematography talents

NFSA and ACS to reward new cinematography talents

The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA) and the Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) invite young cinematographers to apply for the 2014 NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award.
The NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award provides a cash prize of $3,000 to an emerging cinematographer who is either currently studying cinematography at a tertiary institution, or working in the film industry, and is a current member of the ACS. The prize can be used for any educational, training, or professional work which will further their skills and career. The award was first presented in 2010.
According to ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS, “This incentive has been a total success, fostering five young cinematographers in the pursuit of their career goals. The ACS is proud to be part of this valuable program for the fifth consecutive year.”
NFSA CEO Michael Loebenstein explained: “As Australia’s living archive the NFSA not only collects and preserves works from the past; we also have a vital interest in new talents and contemporary production. The partnership with the ACS allows us to engage with Australian creators by supporting emerging professionals and advocating for the preservation of our industry’s achievements – particularly in the light of the challenges the digital production environment poses for the safeguarding of film and broadcast.”
Dale Alexander Bremner, recipient of the NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award in 2013, said: “Winning has given me authentic confidence, the foundation that drives all aspects of your life. Swimming in this Olympic-sized pool of talented Australian cinematographers, one needs all the drive they can find.”
ACS National President Ron Johanson will lead the judging panel, which includes two NFSA representatives and two ACS executive members. The recipient will be announced at the ACS National Awards in Brisbane on 24 May 1014.

Application forms can be obtained by emailing

Ron Johanson OAM ACS and the previous recipients of the NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award are available for interview.

For more information or to request an interview, please contact Miguel Gonzalez (02) 8202 0114.


The Award is named in honour of the Australian Cinematographers Society co- founder and industry icon, John Leake OAM ACS (1927-2009). John began his cinematographic career as a 15-year-old with Movietone News in 1944 before moving on to Supreme Sound Studios. He served as both NSW President and Federal President of the ACS and was the Society’s Official Historian until his passing.

The previous recipients are:

2013 Dale Alexander Bremner ~ New South Wales.
2012 Jimmy Ennett ~ Australian Capital Territory – Receiving award from Ron Johanson OAM ACS and Michael Loebenstein.
2011 – Edward Goldner ~ Victoria.
2010 – Kirsty Stark ~ South Australia.


The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia is the nation’s living archive — developing, preserving and sharing Australia’s audiovisual memory. The national collection includes nearly two million items spanning over 100 years of creative production in film, sound, broadcast and networked media.


Founded in 1958, the Australian Cinematographers Society is a non-political society of crafts people wishing to further develop their skills through mutual cooperation. Membership is open to all persons involved or associated with the motion picture and television industry.

Related Articles