Congratulations to all our 2022 National Award Winners

52nd National Awards for Cinematography

National President Erika Addis

The prestigious 52nd Annual National ACS Awards for Cinematography were held in Adelaide at the Hilton Hotel on Victoria Square on April 30th 2022 and were hosted by the SA ACS Branch. MC was the fabulous Ray Martin AM and this was a black tie event as befits the highlight of the ACS year. These Awards showcased the best of the best work from Australian DoP’s and celebrated the legacy of outgoing National ACS President Ron Johanson OAM ACS and welcomed our new National President Erika Addis.


MC Ray Martin AM

Scroll down to view the winners list or click here to download »

Click here to view the a recording of the event »

Click here to view the photo gallery »


The 2022 Winners – 52nd National Awards for Cinematography

CineKids 10-12

Distinction Party Time Jacob Hudson NSW

CineKids 13-15

Gold Plaque Wards of Erda Eli Holliday WA

Student Cinematography

Gold Plaque It’s Not You Vu Tuan Kiet (Jake) Nguyen WA
Distinction You & Me By The Sea Jono Le Grice NSW

John Bowring ACS Station Breaks & Promos

Gold Tripod The Voice 2021 – Ch 7 Jack Saltmiras NSW
Distinction Main Event – Tszyu Ashleigh Carter NSW

Music Videos

Gold Tripod Short Lived Love – Brad Cox Liam Brennan QLD
Distinction Won’t Sleep – Tones and I Carl Allison VIC

Syd Wood ACS Local / National News

Gold Tripod Palliative Care – ABC News Brant Cumming SA
Distinction Gleaming Accessory – Seven News Kevin Hudson ACS NSW

Neil Davis International News

Gold Tripod Lisa Montgomery Execution – BBC News Timothy Myers ACS NSW
Distinction American Race Relations – BBC News Timothy Myers ACS NSW

Current Affairs

Gold Tripod Horror in Skidmore – The Lisa Montgomery Story – BBC News Timothy Myers ACS NSW
Distinction Balaraba – The Weekly NYT Benjamin Foley QLD

Entertainment & TV Magazine

Gold Tripod Myth – George Maple Don Buppapirak NSW
Distinction Australian Chamber Orchestra Tchaikovsky’s Serenade Drew English NSW

Art, Innovation & Specialised Cinematography

Gold Tripod The Better Angels Richard Chataway ACS SA
Distinction Ancient Remains Joshua Lamont ACS TAS

Corporate – Corporate Branding & Advertising

Gold Tripod Tasmanian Joshua Lamont ACS TAS
Distinction Vera Black 2020 Fashion Film Denson Baker ACS NZCS WA

Corporate – Branded Content, Education & Events

Gold Tripod Audi – Electric Eye Stefan Jose QLD
Distinction Coke Santa John Toon NZCS ACS QLD

Commercials – Local / Regional

Gold Tripod The Upside Drew English & Tyson Perkins NSW
Distinction Surf Life Saving Foundation – Adopt an hour Joshua Lamont ACS TAS

Commercials – National / International

Gold Tripod Your Story Starts Here – Kindle Luke Bickley QLD
Distinction Asics – Be Moved Don Buppapirak NSW


Gold Tripod Geeta Rudi Siira VIC
Distinction The Maternity Ward – The Source Benjamin Foley QLD

Ron Taylor AM ACS Wildlife & Nature

Gold Tripod Attenborough’s Life In Colour S1 E1 Blue Moon Butterflies Benjamin Cunningham VIC
Distinction Kunama Dom West ACS NSW

2nd Unit Cinematography

Distinction Wakefield E8 Tania Lambert ACS NSW

Dramatised Documentaries

Gold Tripod The Witch Of Kings Cross Edward Gill NSW
Distinction We’re All In This Together Daniel von Czarnecki VIC

Short Films

Gold Tripod Rainbow Cameron Zayec & Branco Grabovac QLD
Distinction Grace Aaron Farrugia VIC

Serial TV & Comedy Series

Gold Tripod The Unusual Suspects E1 Simon Ozolins ACS NSW
Distinction Why Are You Like This E3 Shelley Farthing-Dawe ACS VIC

Drama Series

Gold Tripod The Gloaming S1 E3 Marden Dean ACS VIC
Distinction Domina – Fall S1 E1 Denson Baker ACS NZCS WA

Feature Films – Budget under $2m

Gold Tripod Toorbos Brendan Barnes SASC NSW
Distinction Moon Rock for Monday Glenn Hanns NSW

Feature Films – Budget $2m and over

Gold Tripod The Dry Stefan Duscio ACS VIC
Distinction Minari Lachlan Milne ACS NZCS ASC NSW

JOHN LEAKE OAM ACS Award for an EMERGING CINEMATOGRAPHER supported by Panavision

Bonnie Paku

Bonnie Paku, Panavision’s Paul Jackson and Erika Addis

National Judges Merit Award Sony Camera Prize

Ancient Remains Joshua Lamont ACS

SA President Ernie Clark ACS, Frank Bite from Sony and Joshua Lamont ACS

The Milli for the ACS Australian Cinematographer of the Year

The Dry Stefan Duscio ACS

Stefan Duscio ACS with his Milli Award presented by Erika Addis

New additions to the ACS Hall of Fame

Kim Batterham ACS

Malcom Ludgate ACS

Patricia Walter (deceased)

New ACS Life Members

David Brill AM ACS

David Hudspeth

Velinda Wardell ACS

JoAnne Bouzianis-Sellick


Photos by Sam Oster

Related Articles