Member login

2020 ACS National Awards for Cinematography

Bookings will open soon!

2020 National Annual ACS Awards for Cinematography

The prestigious 49th National ACS Awards for Cinematography will be held at:

The National Gallery
6pm, Saturday May 16, 2020

Our MC is a great friend of the ACS, none other than Ray Martin AM and we will be announcing our Guest of Honour very soon.

Dress code is Formal.

The Gold Award winners from the 2019 State & Territory Awards for Cinematography will compete for Gold Tripods and Awards of Distinction in most categories except for the CineKids and Student categories where Gold Plaques are awarded.

The highly respected Milli Award for the Australian Cinematographer of the Year will be selected from the National Gold Tripod winners.

Tickets are $150 inc GST

ACS National Sponsors qualify for a number of complimentary tickets according to their level of sponsorship, theses tickets need to be booked:

  • Major 4
  • Platinum 4
  • Gold 2
  • Silver 2
  • Bronze 1


Accommodation at the Hotel Midnight in Canberra will be organised separately by the Society for ACS Branch delegates attending the 2020 AGM.

Other accommodation packages will be available soon through Stage & Screen Travel.

We've got some terrific LEAD UP EVENTS NOT TO BE MISSED

Make sure you get yourself to Canberra a little early and really make the most of this years National ACS Awards, these extra events will be announced soon.

ARRI Australia presents MEET THE NOMINEES

A Q&A session sponsored By ARRI Australia and moderated by Kim Batterham ACS which brings together as many of the nominated Cinematographers as possible across a broad range of genres. There will be some ARRI gear on show as well.

Saturday, May 16 @ Palace Electric Cinema 1 10am - 12:30pm

Registrations will open soon.

About the Annual ACS National Awards for cinematography

The BLACK TIE GALA is the premier event on the ACS calendar and is an opportunity to celebrate the art of the best cinematography in Australia so get your glad rags on and book soon.

Entries for the National Awards are automatically determined from the Gold winners at the individual State & Territory Awards, held in November the preceding year. Direct entry is not available into the National Awards. Only current financial members of the Society are eligible to enter into the State & Territory awards and must remain financial members at the time of National Awards' judging.

The Gold Tripod is the highest award given in each category. A runner up may receive an Award of Distinction. Only one Gold Tripod and one Award of Distinction may be awarded in each category.

The Milli

All of the Gold Tripod Winners are then reconsidered to determine the winner of the Milli Award for ACS Australian Cinematographer of the Year.

The National Awards are held on a rotational basis between the States of NSW, Queensland, Victoria and South Australia. On special occasions the National Awards may be held in one of the other States or Territories.

© 2020 Australian Cinematographers Society
Web design ToadShow