Member login


The Australian Cinematographers Society Awards for Cinematography are open to all current financial members of the Society.

The State & Territory Awards are held in October / November each year with Gold winners automatically progressing through to the National Awards for Cinematography. The National Awards include the announcement of Australian Cinematographer of the Year which is announced the following year. The recipient receives the coveted MILLI Award.

Direct entry is not possible into the National Awards, all entries must first go through the relevant State & Territory awards system.

Judging is by a panel of 5 Accredited ACS members in each host state.

Special Awards

The ACS also has a number of special awards that are presented at the National or State & Territory awards.

Special National Awards include the Ron Windon ACS Contribution Award for services to the ACS and the Australian Film Industry and inductions into the ACS Hall of Fame and Life Membership as well as the NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award for an Emerging Cinematographer.

John Bowring ACS

In May 2011 the National Executive decided unanimously that the TV Station Breaks & Promos category would be named in the honour of John's memory. To that end, this category is called the "John Bowring ACS TV Station Breaks & Promos Award". The meeting felt this particular category, which John had won in the past, was an ideal one to carry his name into the future.

© 2018 Australian Cinematographers Society
Web design ToadShow